Only a part of the unique octagonal early 13th century keep remains. The site is overgrown and derelict as the castle was abandoned by the 16th century, at least 400 years ago and much of the stone has been reused. The castle, which belonged to King John, was beseiged by the French in 1216.
Open all year.
Photos Charles Taylor